High Visibility

Admissions

Welcome to Discovery Academy

DISCOVERY PRIMARY ACADEMY IN YEAR APPLICATION PROCESS 2023/24

1. Discovery Primary Academy administers their own in-year admissions from Year 1 to Year 6. (New reception intake and Year 6 transfer by law still have to be administered by the Local Authority)

2. Application forms can be completed at the school office or for enquiries please phone 01733 325001 or email office@discoveryprimary.com

3. Applications will not be accepted without:-

a. Proof of age (passport or birth certificate)

b. Proof of address (utility bill, bank statement etc less than 3 months old)

c. Proof that the child lives with the parents (child tax credits, child benefit letter, medical card.

4. Application forms will be processed every Friday (term time only). Offers will be made once the Admissions committee approves applications.

5. You will be informed of your child's place on the waiting list by email/letter within 10 days.

6. Measurements for in-year admissions are done by using Google maps; it is measured by a straightline from the Academy to the home address.

7. When you are offered a place at the Academy we will hold the place for 1 week before offering it to the next person on the waiting list, unless there is an exceptional circumstance.

8. If your child does not get offered a place at the Discovery Primary Academy you have a right to appeal to the independent appeals panel, for more information please ring 01733 452589.

9. Discovery Primary Academy must stress that when you complete their in year admission form you are only applying for their school, to apply for other Peterborough Schools you must contact the Local Authorities admission department on 01733 747474 or email admissions@peterborough.gov.uk

September 2023 - July 2024

Discovery Primary allocates school places every Friday (term time only).  Detailed below are the dates when allocations will be taking place and the deadline dates for receiving your application for it to be included in the allocation. The allocation dates are also the dates the Admissions committee confirms admission arrangements. 

ALLOCATION DATES DEADLINE FOR APPLICATIONS TO BE RECEIVED
Friday  8 September 2023 Thursday 7 September 2023
Friday 15 September 2023 Thursday 14 September 2023
Friday 22 September 2023 Thursday 21 September 2023
Friday 29 September 2023 Thursday 28 September 2023
Friday 6 October 2023 Thursday 5 October 2023
Friday 13 October 2023 Thursday 12 October 2023
Friday 20 October 2023 Thursday 19 October 2023
HALF TERM    23 OCTOBER -   27 OCTOBER
Friday 3 November 2023 Thursday 2 November 2023
Friday 10 November 2023 Thursday 9 November 2023
Friday 17 November 2023 Thursday 16 November 2023
Friday 24 November 2023 Thursday 23 November 2023
Friday 1 December 2023 Thursday 30 November 2023
Friday 8 December 2023 Thursday 7 December 2023
Friday 15 December 2023 Thursday  14 December 2023
CHRISTMAS HOLIDAY 21  DECEMBER - 3 JANUARY
Friday 5 January 2024 Thursday 4 January 2024
Friday 12 January 2024 Thursday 11 January 2024
Friday 19 January 2024 Thursday 18 January 2024
Friday 26 January 2024 Thursday 25 January 2024
Friday 2 February 2024 Thursday 1 February 2024
Friday 9 February 2024 Thursday 8 February 2024
Friday 16 February 2024 Thursday 15 February  2024
HALF TERM   19 FEBRUARY - 23 FEBRUARY
Friday 1 March 2024 Thursday 29 February 2024
Friday 8 March 2024 Thursday 7 March 2024
Friday 15 March 2024 Thursday 14 March 2024
Friday 22 March 2024 Thursday 21 March 2024
Friday 29 March 2024 Thursday 28 March 2024
                                                   EASTER HOLIDAY 1 APRIL -  12 APRIL 2024
Friday 19 April 2024 Thursday 18 April 2024
Friday 26 April 2024 Thursday 25 April 2024
Friday 3 May 2024 Thursday 2 May 2024
Friday 10 May 2024 Thursday 9 May 2024
Friday 17 May 2024 Thursday 16 May 2024
Friday 24 May 2024 Thursday 23 May 2024
                                                                 HALF TERM 27  MAY - 

 

31 May

Friday 7 June 2024 Thursday 6 June 2024
Friday 14 June 2024 Thursday 13 June 2024
Friday 21 June 2024 Thursday 20 June 2024
Friday 28 June 2024 Thursday 27 June 2024
Friday 5 July 2024 Thursday 4  July 2024
Friday 12 July 2024 Thursday 11 July 2024
Friday 19 July 2024 Thursday 18 July 2024
End of School  Term


 

CLICK HERE TO APPEAL

If you have any other questions or queries:

Please contact our school office on 01733 325001 for more information.

In Year School Transfers

This is when your child already has a school place, but you wish to transfer them to another school. Please click the link below

https://www.peterborough.gov.uk/residents/schools-and-education/school-admissions/moving-schools-in-year-transfer/

If you have any other questions or queries:

Please contact our school office on 01733 325001 for more information.


Our PAN (Published Admissions Number) is 90 pupils per year group.

From September 2023 the PAN will be 60.

From September 2023 the academy will cap year 1, year 2 and year 3 at 60. 

You can also click on the link to download and view the new admission policy for September 2023.

All applications for Foundation Stage and Secondary School are to be completed online using the links provided below. 

Peterborough LA Admissions Guide 

https://www.peterborough.gov.uk/residents/schools-and-education/school-admissions/

New Foundation Stage and year 7 admissions for September 2023

All new FS admissions are dealt with by the Peterborough Local Authority.  Peterborough children who attend a Local Authority Peterborough Primary school will receive information from the Academy on applying to Secondary Schools. Parents of Year 6 students who do not attend a Peterborough Primary school but live in Peterborough should contact the Admissions Team at the Education Office in Peterborough for further information prior to entry into Secondary Education.  Up to 1 March all enquiries should be made to the Admissions team at the Local Authority

Further information regarding this process can be found in the Peterborough Admissions Guide.